17th National Competition on IHL (November 2023)

Welcome to the webpage of the 17th National Competition for students on International Humanitarian Law


The National Competition on International Humanitarian Law, Israel-2023 is the 17th annual national competition in international humanitarian law (IHL) to be held in Israel.


The Competition is organized by the Association for the Promotion of International Humanitarian Law in Israel in collaboration with the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC).


The Purposes of the Competition

 The purposes of the IHL Competition include:

1. Enhancing students' knowledge and understanding of IHL;

2. Developing students' capacity to apply the law in a practical and relevant manner to real-life situations;

3. Supporting the teaching of IHL in academic institutions; and

4. Preparing participants for IHL-related professional pursuits.



Important Dates

 1. A team’s completed Application Form must be received at ihl.competition@alma-ihl.org by Tuesday, 20 June 2023.

2. The 2023 National Competition will take place between during the first week of November, 5-8 November, 2023, in Negev Mountains Field School.


For additional information please see the competition's regulations (attached, see below) and the IHL Competition Homepage or contact ihl.competition@alma-ihl.org

Summer Course Schedule

Summer Course Schedule

Tuesday, 1st August, 21:00-23:00: Introduction to IHL

Monday, 7th August, 19:00-20:30: Classification of Conflicts

Wednesday, 9th August, 19:00-20:30: Means and Methods

Wednesday, 16th August, 19:00-20:30: Distinction and Targeting

Sunday, 20th August, 19:30-21:00: Occupation

Wednesday, 23rd August, 19:30-21:00: Displacement

Tuesday, 29th August, 18:30-19:55: International Criminal Law

Wednesday, 30th August, 18:30-20:00: Deprivation of Liberty

Wednesday, 6th September, 19:00-20:30: Cyber

Monday, 11th September, 19:00-20:30: Human Rights in IHL

Wednesday, 13th September, 18:30-20:00: The Nature of IHL


Sara Goel

Shir Ben Amo

Jennifer Borik

Matan Adar

Daniel Elashvili

Anis Hatuel

Noam Slama

Shira Gelb

Tavor Geffen

Koren Ben Lulu

May Amara

Michal Klasovsky

Harel Ben-Yosef

Oded Dagan

Aviad Avivi

Idan Ben Mocha

Tala Abu Dalu

Netta Azoulay

Shira Orvieto

Niv Meirson

Hanna Shlomo

Competition Sponsors